Advisory Board member Anahi Ayala Iacucci resigning from the SBTF

As of today I, Anahi Ayala Iacucci, resign from my position as an SBTF Advisory Board member. Here is part of my resignation letter as it was sent today to the Core Team:

“Dear all,

I am writing this email to you to inform you all that I am resigning from the SBTF as an Advisory Board member and also as a volunteer.

This has been a decision I came about in the past 6 months.

My experience in the SBTF has been an incredible journey: I loved every moment of it, even the once I hated. Since the first meeting we had in October 2010, I have been learning, growing and challenging myself all the way, every day. I have met incredible people and formed amazing relationships that last until today.

I am leaving because I realized that in the past 4 years my all life has been the SBTF and my job. I have not really worked to create a life outside it. I did it because that was my passion and because I wanted to, but I realized that now it is time for me to move to new experiences and new adventures.

The SBTF has been my babe, in a way, and now it is time for the babe to walk alone and chose its own path. I have no regrets of any sort. I know I have done mistakes and I learned from those mistakes, so I would re-do them again because they made me a better person.

I am going to focus more on myself for the time being, on my career and on the more “practical” humanitarian work. The digital humanitarian world it’s in my heart and it will always be, but I realized that I have little time to do both if I also want to have a private life. This is the main reason why I am taking this decision and why I am leaving the SBTF.

As I said, I have no regrets. I loved working with you all and I know I am leaving the SBTF in good hands. I wish all of you the best of luck and I hope your journey will be as exciting and amazing as mine has been.

I also want to thank you all for what you taught me and for making the SBTF a fantastic adventure for the past 4 years of my life.”

Leave a Reply

